Help with VGN380N Windows Vista Downgrade

Talk about installing other operating systems on the micro PC.
jetbreaker

Help with VGN380N Windows Vista Downgrade

Postby jetbreaker » Wed Oct 10, 2007 03:41

I bought this Micro PC with Vista Business on it. The problem is that Vista as probably most of the other threads have said before, runs like a piece of crap and I've been looking for a way to downgrade to XP.

Can anyone please help me with a UX380N downgrade? I've been reading over the downgrading threads but, none of them are specific enough to tell me that w/e downgrade is available now,can be used with 380N.

If they are please reply.

jetbreaker

Postby jetbreaker » Wed Oct 10, 2007 03:56

I downloaded the Sony UX Windows XP Driver + Apps.rar and I'm not sure if those are only the drivers or does it bring one of the Windows XPs with it?

thkimdesigns

Postby thkimdesigns » Wed Oct 10, 2007 05:57

I have the 380N so I know your situation. I'm no expert so consult with Sull or some of the other guys that are more technically sound, but heres my experience.

1. You need an external DVD writer that works with your UX.
2. You need Windows XP installation CD/DVD
3. You might want to make a recovery CD for your Vista before doing anything else

Next

1. I paid for an Acronis Disk Director download = $50 bucks so I could remove the partition that Sony puts on the computer

2. Restart computer and get into BIOS. I think its Fn + F3 or Control + F3
3. Change settings so the UX boots from CD/DVD Drive first.
3. When ready, put the XP CD into the CD Drive and restart computer.
4. Reformat hard drive and install XP.
5. Get SP2 if you dont have it from MS.
6. Download Sulls XP drivers/applications + other stuff from his instructions and install those according to his instructions. I downloaded the latest one he had for 390N.
7. That should do it! You will be amazed how quickly your UX runs.

I hope I didnt miss any major steps... good luck

Benz145