Swap out wireless card?

pahncrd
Senior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 08:35

Postby pahncrd » Wed Sep 05, 2007 22:41

Installed the card today and it works great.

zikman
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 17:11

Postby zikman » Sat Nov 03, 2007 06:28

Can we swap out the alc262 chipset as well??


nzmacdude
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 02:40

Postby nzmacdude » Tue Nov 27, 2007 02:47

FYI
I guess it is no great surprise but the minipci wifi card from an AppleTV installs and works straight away. Took about 5 mins to swap out the original and install the one for from my AppleTV. I use my AppleTV via ethernet so it does not need the Airport card.

openone
Senior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 04:29

Postby openone » Mon Sep 29, 2008 07:38

me too got a macbook pro 802.11N card from ebay , replaced the intel one , now it is blazin fast! :D

Thanks to everyone. :)
________
Live sex

kiz
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 22:24

Postby kiz » Thu Oct 30, 2008 16:44

anybody tried the intel wifif 5300 card

User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Thu Oct 30, 2008 17:01

kiz wrote:anybody tried the intel wifif 5300 card


I am buying one very soon, perhaps today.:eek:
Z1290X: i7 | FHD | 2x Intel X18 RAID0 320GB | 8GB RAM | Carbon | BIOS Hack | nVidia 280.26/3D Vision | Intel 6230 WiFi/BT 3.0HS | Gobi Unlocked | GTExpress WWAN | ViDock4+ GTX570 | DELL U3011 | Ext Batt | Z-Dock & VAIO USB Dock | VAIO BT Keyboard | Razor Orochi
P11SKX/Bl Signature Black Crocodile
P688E/N: Gold | Gobi Unlocked | Ext Batt | VAIO Gold Mouse
UX490N: Core2Duo Mod | BIOS Hack | Broadcom CrystalHD | SIM Unlocked | Ext Batt

kiz
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 22:24

Postby kiz » Thu Oct 30, 2008 17:32

with the 4965 did you have to connect the thrid antenna
did it work with just 2 if you connect to the connectors labeled 1 and 2 on the card
did you insert the card /install the drivers and it worked, i am havign it recognized but no signal syays wireless is switched off

cimino
Senior Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 09:28
Location: New Zealand

Postby cimino » Thu Oct 30, 2008 18:07

kiz,
Connecting a third antenna isn't too important. It will only improve the signal a small amount.
Mine works great with just the two connected.

When I installed my 4965 it was permanently on and SmartWi couldn't see it. Re-installing SmartWi allowed me to control it. It sounds like yours has defaulted to the off state so uninstalling and reinstalling SmartWi should let you switch it on.

kiz
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 22:24

Postby kiz » Thu Oct 30, 2008 21:43

thanks cimino i am using vista, i installed the drivers from the intel site, device manager shows th wireless card, but when i click on connect to network no networks show up in the list, when i click troubkleshoot it says your hardware wireless switch must be off did you get the 4965 working nder vista

thanks
kiz


Return to “Mac OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests