LCD screen problem¡¡¡

Talk about the hardware components of the micro PC.
charlie2001
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 21:45

LCD screen problem¡¡¡

Postby charlie2001 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:32

Hi, I have a problem with the screen of my ux which does not leave me to see what exists on screen. Is there any solution?,

I `m from spain and we haven`t technical service for this fantastic product.

Many thanks.


[ATTACH]1309[/ATTACH]
Attachments
IMAG0001.jpg

User avatar
PRAXXUS
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 14:08

Postby PRAXXUS » Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:29

Does this happen at the moment you turn the device on? or can you see the VAIO logo at BIOS run-up?

Do you have any external monitors connected when you turn the UX on?

charlie2001 wrote:Hi, I have a problem with the screen of my ux which does not leave me to see what exists on screen. Is there any solution?,

I `m from spain and we haven`t technical service for this fantastic product.

Many thanks.


[ATTACH]1309[/ATTACH]
"Live Long an Prosper"

charlie2001
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 21:45

Postby charlie2001 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:49

Thank you for your early response. Yes, it happen when turn on the device and I can`t see the VAIO logo. I haven`t any external monitors connected. When I hear windows begin, I use the button of power to down (hold position) and wait until the screen goes off, after a few seconds I remove the position hold and sometimes the image comes and I can use it normally. But it`s a big problem because not always the images comes.

I hope that you have understood well the explanation.

Many thanks again.

User avatar
Talentfrei
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 20:15

Postby Talentfrei » Tue Apr 13, 2010 14:11

It's maybe a contact problem.

It could maybe be repaired by disassemble and reassemble.
Or the Display module is defect...

You don’t have any guarantee right?
Sorry for my bad english... i come from Germany :rolleyes:
UX on my Homepage: Ultra Mobile PCs

User avatar
PRAXXUS
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 14:08

Postby PRAXXUS » Tue Apr 13, 2010 14:25

Before taking the device appart to check the connections as the next resort.

Can you validate the BIOS version you are running?

Maybe it's just a matter of updating the BIOS.

You'll need to connect an external monitor to see what you're doing in Windows.

I'm not sure if the UX has a "cuda" switch... Mac's have these on their logic boards, it's a small button on the logic board that basically resets the BIOS. I doubt it, but maybe...

Can anyone verify this?

If all else fails, it sounds like a harware issue and I'd take the other posters advice and check the display connections.


Talentfrei wrote:It's maybe a contact problem.

It could maybe be repaired by disassemble and reassemble.
Or the Display module is defect...

You don’t have any guarantee right?
"Live Long an Prosper"

charlie2001
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 21:45

Postby charlie2001 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 14:31

Thank you for your answer Talentfrei. No, I haven`t any guarantee. I have bought it in 2007 on April. I don´t know what to do. For 2 hours without being able to use my ux....... (at the moment....)

User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Tue Apr 13, 2010 14:32

I had this problem with one of my UX's right out of the box. I sent I back to Sony and they sent me a new one.
Z1290X: i7 | FHD | 2x Intel X18 RAID0 320GB | 8GB RAM | Carbon | BIOS Hack | nVidia 280.26/3D Vision | Intel 6230 WiFi/BT 3.0HS | Gobi Unlocked | GTExpress WWAN | ViDock4+ GTX570 | DELL U3011 | Ext Batt | Z-Dock & VAIO USB Dock | VAIO BT Keyboard | Razor Orochi
P11SKX/Bl Signature Black Crocodile
P688E/N: Gold | Gobi Unlocked | Ext Batt | VAIO Gold Mouse
UX490N: Core2Duo Mod | BIOS Hack | Broadcom CrystalHD | SIM Unlocked | Ext Batt

charlie2001
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 21:45

Postby charlie2001 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 18:24

PRAXXUS wrote:Before taking the device appart to check the connections as the next resort.

Can you validate the BIOS version you are running?

Maybe it's just a matter of updating the BIOS.

You'll need to connect an external monitor to see what you're doing in Windows.

I'm not sure if the UX has a "cuda" switch... Mac's have these on their logic boards, it's a small button on the logic board that basically resets the BIOS. I doubt it, but maybe...

Can anyone verify this?

If all else fails, it sounds like a harware issue and I'd take the other posters advice and check the display connections.


Thank you very much for your support. I can´t see de Bios version because the screen doesn´t work. If I understand you the solution will be update the Bios version?

thanks

EDIT: I have just verified that I have the last bios version that sony has in the web page

charlie2001
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 21:45

Postby charlie2001 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 18:48

That´s new :eek: :confused:
[ATTACH]1310[/ATTACH]
Attachments
IMAG0006.jpg

User avatar
PRAXXUS
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 14:08

Postby PRAXXUS » Tue Apr 13, 2010 20:23

Toastada!! :eek:

THIS IS POST #100!!

Do I get a medal? :rolleyes:

charlie2001 wrote:That´s new :eek: :confused:
[ATTACH]1310[/ATTACH]
"Live Long an Prosper"


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests