How to unlock the Sony Ericsson EDGE (SIM) module

Talk about the wireless features of the micro PC.
User avatar
Benz145
Senior Member
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 04:06
Contact:

How to unlock the Sony Ericsson EDGE (SIM) module

Postby Benz145 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 21:05

This guide is directly from Sony eSupport.

The embedded Sony Ericsson EDGE Module can be unlocked so that it will accept and use another SIM card, for instance one from another cellular carrier. Once the embedded Sony Ericsson EDGE Module is unlocked, the Sony-provided Cingular® SIM card can be removed and a different SIM card inserted. Use the following procedure to ensure the computer is properly configured to perform the SIM unlock procedure and to obtain the IMEI number needed to find the SIM unlock code.

Windows XP -
  1. Ensure the Sony Ericsson EDGE Module is installed properly.
  2. On the front edge of the notebook, move the Wireless LAN switch to the ON position.
  3. Ensure the SmartWi utility is configured for WWAN.
  4. Start the Cingular® Connection Manager software.
  5. In the Cingular® Connection Manager software, find and record the Sony Ericsson EDGE Module IMEI number.
IMPORTANT: To complete the SIM unlock procedure, please contact Sony Support at 888-476-6972 (United States) or 239-768-7676 (International). At the time of the call, you must be with the notebook in order to provide information to a support representative.[INDENT]6. After the Sony representative provides you with the unlock code, perform the SIM unlock procedure.[/INDENT]Vista Users - Attempt the same steps above for Windows XP, and see the additional information below

Sony Recommended free Hyper Terminal program for Vista - http://www.hilgraeve.com/htpe/download.html

Please see the Vista EDGE Unlock Discussion found here:
Sony VAIO UX180 | Asus UX31E Ultrabook | iPhone 5S | Google Glass

Virtual Reality Blog
Personal Blog

Editor for:
UltrabookNews.com
Carrypad.com
UMPCPortal.com

User avatar
griffog
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 15:03

Postby griffog » Sun Feb 25, 2007 21:58

Wht do us Vista users do as we don't have (yet) the SmartWi or Cingular Utils :(

User avatar
AsturLoko
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 04:33
Location: Asturias
Contact:

Postby AsturLoko » Wed Jun 20, 2007 00:18

You must download hyperterminal.

User avatar
Davey
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:00
Location: Wales, UK

How To Unlock In The Uk - For Orange

Postby Davey » Thu Jun 28, 2007 23:30

1stly ORANGE is the only UK provider with EDGE, so unless you want decent speed you will only get GPRS with others (and some will not work due to only using older bands)

2ndly I suggest that you download the New "AT&T" CCM 6.2.10.0

my original cingular (as will your eventually) "timed out" - if it cannot phone home it stops working...

The New "AT&T" CCM 6.2.10.0 can be downloaded from here:
http://www.wireless.att.com/business...p/software.jsp
Direct file link:
http://www.wireless.att.com/business...CCM-6.2.10.exe

It upgraded my Cingular Communication Manager just fine, and I'm using an unlocked modem with a Orange SIM and profile under WinXP. According to the web site it's Vista Compatible as well (I will let you know when I upgrade)

it also seems to be faster detecting the network (I could always see the network with the Cingular Connection Manager it just would not connect):mad:

Then set up a profile

I used the AT&T accelerated as a base (just renamed it orange after the required edits)
you need to have the Dialled number as *99***1#
and the Access point name as orangeinternet

then connect and enjoy!:D

Ps this took me ages (all night) mainly due to a frustrating sony tech, rubbish orange internet info (its is night here and helplines closed), rubbish locked cingular connection manager - it lets you see the network that you cannot connect too......:eek:

but I am happy now:)

openone
Senior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 04:29

Postby openone » Sat Jul 21, 2007 14:32

is the module backward compatible with the GPRS ?
excuse me if this is n00bish ,but i want to clear my doubt. :)
________
Wiki Vaporizer

User avatar
Benz145
Senior Member
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 04:06
Contact:

Postby Benz145 » Sat Jul 21, 2007 15:09

If I understand correctly EDGE is Cingular/ATT's name for their data over GPRS, I could be wrong, but reading up on this page should give a clear idea -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDGE#EGPRS_modulation_and_coding_scheme_.28MCS.29
Sony VAIO UX180 | Asus UX31E Ultrabook | iPhone 5S | Google Glass



Virtual Reality Blog

Personal Blog



Editor for:

UltrabookNews.com

Carrypad.com

UMPCPortal.com

JAngel27
Senior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 03:10
Location: Venezuela

Postby JAngel27 » Sat Jul 21, 2007 20:57

-UX newbie

tinker2000
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 16:42
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby tinker2000 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 16:46

Hi,

I am from the UK and would like to unlock the SIM so that i can use T Mobile over here. i rang Sony customer care and they would not give me the unlock code, as I live outside of the US. Is there any other way of getting the code ot unlocking the SIM?

Thanks

MT

User avatar
Yeggster
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 19:42

Postby Yeggster » Sat Sep 15, 2007 06:29

I don't understand why they would care ... but why do you even have to tell them?

I had mine unlocked with no problem and mine was a US modle and I am in Canada

Agus
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 02:04

Postby Agus » Sun Sep 16, 2007 00:16

Yeggster wrote:I don't understand why they would care ... but why do you even have to tell them?

I had mine unlocked with no problem and mine was a US modle and I am in Canada


How do you unlocked the module?

AG


Return to “Wireless”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests