Help UX380N: no WWAN-Modem found!

Talk about the wireless features of the micro PC.
jeanjaques
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 20:16

Help UX380N: no WWAN-Modem found!

Postby jeanjaques » Tue Jul 27, 2010 08:33

Hi,

I have a problem with the WWAN-Modem from UX380N.:mad: :mad:

I have installed win7 ultimate and the WWAN-modem driver, but no modem was found.

How can I switch on the WWAN-modem since the original cingular application seems to install but not working?

I have received a unlock code from Sony but the hyperterminal didn't find the modem and it seems also no modem installed. The software for the WWAN was installed with no fault message.:confused:

What should I try?

Thanks guys for the very good job with the win 7 drivers.:) :)

User avatar
anh
Senior Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 06:59

Postby anh » Tue Jul 27, 2010 17:12

You have to install SmartWi.
Anh Nguyen
Join BidNip To Save and Win More Auctions

Notebook
SVS13A190X

Portable
VGN-UX280P
Tablet S1 16GB

jeanjaques
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 20:16

Postby jeanjaques » Wed Jul 28, 2010 06:51

Hi,

So, I have managed to install smartwi, I switched on the WWAN in the software but the WWAN control light is off and the cingular manager didn't find any WWAN-Modem. I have also tried with the Sony Vaio Smart Network and the same. The software says the WWAN-modem is on, but I don't have no modem in system and the WWAN control ligth at the control panel is off.
Do you have any suggestions what should I check?

User avatar
anh
Senior Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 06:59

Postby anh » Wed Jul 28, 2010 20:27

You have to go to Device Manager to check if you see EDGE modem in there.
Anh Nguyen

Join BidNip To Save and Win More Auctions



Notebook
SVS13A190X

Portable
VGN-UX280P
Tablet S1 16GB

grosstraktor
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 15:41

Postby grosstraktor » Mon Jan 14, 2013 16:06

Bump.
Just bought a 380N and it doesn't show an EDGE modem in the device manager. Is there a possibility that something is switched off or some software is missing, or the thing is broken? If it's relevant, WiFi is working just fine.

ceehoppy1st
Senior Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 07:00
Location: New Jersey

Postby ceehoppy1st » Mon Jan 14, 2013 19:03

What version of windows do you have? Wifi will work with just the drivers & windows- or with intel's proset manager. You need sony's smartwi manager installed, turn on the wireless switch on the UX & then select WWAN-EDGE in smartwi before the modem will show up in device manager. You usually need some form of manager to use Blutooth as well.
UX280 U7700- ssd of the day - hardware test toy
UX37GN stock- U1500-hdd

grosstraktor
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 15:41

Postby grosstraktor » Mon Jan 14, 2013 19:38

Sorry for bothering - as usual, post first, then lurk and voila - solution in a couple seconds. Now off to concern about the security code...


Return to “Wireless”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest